Those Hideous Monsters…


So I go to attempt the first proper open-book exam of my life. And by the experience of the open-book quiz and mid-term, I am not liking it. How can someone from our desi education system be prepared for an open-book exam? It just doesn’t make sense! What is an exam if you don’t have to rattafy things? When you don’t have to make funny-sounding acronyms of points? How do you even cheat on an open-book exam?!!!

They are snatching away my innocence from me, by subjecting me to this hideous torture. They are depriving me of my most cherished things, my memories, and are subjecting me to think and come up with logical answers to questions posed. They want me to lose my eloquence and write with succinct stub-like statements. They want me to leave behind my grand ideals and concentrate on the exam at hand, not to pepper any answers with gems of brilliance!

They are missing a chance to really see a genius at work. They are missing a chance to find out what truly a masterpiece an exam paper could be. They are missing out, really!

What’s the world coming to?!

PS: If you are still with me, wish me luck πŸ˜‰

15 Responses

  1. an open-book exam can be a hell of a thing…the allotted time spends in searching for the answer in the book…and in the u finds that its not in there πŸ˜€

  2. correction: and in the end u finds that its not in there

  3. >> What’s the world coming to? … ( an end)

  4. Well it went kinda that way πŸ˜› But I took the course outline with me so I was quickly able to index my notes and readings πŸ˜€

  5. i rattofied my brains out in IBA. and even here I have to rattofy :s there’s just enough learning/remembering I can do :s

  6. That’s exactly what the open-book exams try to eliminate, mindless rattafication πŸ˜› You don’t have ob exams there?

  7. i luv open book. I feel like it puts us poor souls who cant sit n memorize but have great brains n those lucky souls who find memorizing just too easy at the same level. Good luck πŸ™‚ Oh and far star, you have to put post its all over ure book to know where each n everything is. Its annoying but its better than attempting to rattofy.

  8. bubblie: I am getting the hang of it now, though I must say that I couldn’t rattafy back in desiland either… But there I had the consolation that the domain of the questions asked would be constrained to the literal text in the book and/or lectures.

    This just might be my thing πŸ˜›

  9. not yet :s but here we can substitute writing 15-25 pages long papers instead of final exams. I prefer the finals! Have two tomorrow :s

  10. Yayyy writing term papers is soooooooo exciting, we get a chance to have our creative juices flowing πŸ˜›


  11. ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

    IF YOU NEED A BLOG, DONT FORGET TO SEE WEBSITE “Leoxa.com”
    (The Themes Is Very-very Beautiful & Also Able To Place Adsense)

    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

  12. hahha! open book exams are so fun man!
    We used to have thsi tecaher who was some PHD and made teh heradest papers on electro motive forces during my engineering. The owrst part was it alwyas was an open book exam and hardly 5 out of 50 people passed it!

  13. But the better thing here is that the grading is done on a relative basis, not an absolute one πŸ˜›

  14. lol.. open book text is tough if you don’t read and understand the chapters in the book itself but it is better than those ratafied stupid tests.

  15. Open book exams are tough only when you cannot take the concepts taught in the class and apply them to a different scenario. You really need to understand the concepts, otherwise they are much dangerous than close book exams.

Leave a Reply

